To Shave or Not To Shave?

Lets be frank. It’s the question that faces all women, standing in the shower early in the morning. Can I really be bothered to shave my legs today? Will anyone see them? Will they notice the lack of shaved-ness if they do? Do I care if they do? Shall I just wear tights?

More often than I care to admit, I opt for the lazy option- Not To Shave. My reasoning stands as thus; I rarely go barelegged anywhere at the moment as I favor long hippie skirts, leg warmers or just baggy trousers. So who’s going to see? The only person who would be inclined/allowed to remove my clothing is my other half. And as far as I can tell he isn’t bothered one way or another what I do with my legs, or indeed other parts of my body. He accepts my inability to find the willpower to shave my legs daily on the same level as my refusing to wear a bra for weeks at a time and hardly ever wearing shoes; it is all part of kind-of-adorable-kind-of-freaky hippie nature. Which leads me on to my next point.

Refusing to shave my legs is not just a matter of lazyness (most of the time anyway) but a matter of a feminist stand against the sexism of men who DON’T HAVE TO SHAVE THEIR LEGS. Men argue that they shave their faces, to which I slowly and carefully explain that the surface area of my legs alone greatly exceeds their face, let alone armpits etc which I do bother shaving regularly. Women shave everything from the neck down, men only have to shave their faces. I find this unfair. So sometimes I feel like sticking it to the man and refusing to shave at all until men aren’t allowed beards by law (beards kinda freak me out btw). Why am I judged for my slightly fluffy legs when men can look like chewbacca??? Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE hairy men. I’ve banned my boyfriend from shaving any part of his body except his face. I have a slight fetish for back hair. But why don’t men also accept that if I don’t shave my legs, it’s not because I’m a dirty tramp, but in fact its because I am not wonderwoman. So, I will not shave my legs everyday, I will not always wear a bra. My wonderful chest attachments shall flow wild and free and untamed. Shoes are for those without hobbit feet. I am a woman, I am proud and I will go amazon once in a while if I feel like it and I reserve the right not to be judged by this.

So, on this note, I will not shave my legs for a month and keep a record of all the people the notice this/care. If there’s any justice or equality in the world, no one will.

Debbimouse, over and out.

7 thoughts on “To Shave or Not To Shave?

  1. MichB says:

    Thank you!! I completely agree with this. I’ve never understood this weird thing our society has with women only having hair on the tops of their heads. I was discussing waxing with a work colleague once (I refuse to do it. No no NO) and asked her why it was so important to remove all this hair; pits, legs, pubes, and in her case arm hair (Why? I have no idea). Her reply was along the lines of “Well it’s just a bit… nasty isn’t it. It’s not natural.” Needless to say, I was dumbfounded. “What do you mean it’s not natural?! It’s hair, not a tumour. everyone’s got it, it’s clearly meant to be there.” I can appreciate wanting to keep things tidy but I find it a bit bizarre that being prepuscently hairless is the current standard of beauty. I usually don’t bother shaving until there’s at least enough hair there to be spotted from across a room. In the winter when I’m usually in trousers or tights I stop altogether and have a private contest to see how long it will get by the spring. I (probably incorrectly) hypothesise that it will help keep my legs warm πŸ™‚

    Also, bare feet are the best.

    • Oh my gosh! I’ve never met anyone else that does that too! I’m the same every winter, I have an internal counter every year to see how many months I get through without shaving πŸ˜‰ I also really don’t understand why it’s considered “nasty”. Nothing so natural should be nasty! Women probably didn’t shave like back in Shakespeare or Jane Austen and it never stopped men thinking they were beautiful then, so why should it now?? Obviously, I agree with you about keeping things tidy, I’m not advocating total caveman living standards, but we are not prepubescent! We are WOMEN! And actually scientifically, it should keep you warmer as the hair will trap a layer of air as insulation around your skin. So not shaving is actually beneficial in winter!
      Bare feet are indeed, the best. Whenever people seriously question my shoe-less habits I blame it all on my NZ genes.

      • MichB says:

        Haha! We should have a contest this winter to see who can grow the longest leg hair – okay I’m taking this wayy too seriously now πŸ˜€
        I was on my old campus barefoot a week ago (They keep it clean and it was hot so I’d taken them off) and a man came up to me when I was unlocking my bike. “Excuse me” he said, “you’re not wearing any shoes.”
        “Yes,” I replied, “I know.”
        “Why is that? Did you lose them?”
        “No, it just feels nice not to wear them sometimes.”
        “Oh. Oh okay. Have a nice day,” He gave me this very odd look, and off he went. I wonder if he just thought I somehow wasn’t aware of my own shoelessness? Very peculiar.

      • I get that reaction to shoelessness so often it makes me laugh :’)
        and FYI my legs are super hairy atm πŸ˜‰ how are yourss doing?? (too weird?;L)

      • MichB says:

        I read this in the living room, laughed, and then had to explain the contest to my family. Oh dear πŸ˜€
        I’m doing pretty well so far. I have a very respectable fuzzy layer on down there, although growth seems to have slowed down a bit. I guess leg hair only grows so long before it falls out, like hair. Otherwise men would be able to plait their leg hair,
        My feet have retreated back into my boots due to the cold weather. I don’t know what it is but once my feet have gone cold it takes an age and a half to warm them up again, so a lot of my time is spent just trying to stop the heat escaping with thick socks and so on. Speaking of your NZ genes, I’ve been all over The Hobbit (since age 10 when I first read it, but especially now there’s a movie out) and imagining that my hairy-footed state makes me more hobbit-like, and therefore more awesome. Can’t wait for the weather to warm up so I can get my feet out again.
        Hope your Christmas was good!

  2. Not wearing shoes is the best feeling :). I can’t wait until I can take my shoes off again when it warms up. People will most probably continue to look at me like I am mad but they’re part of a shoe-ist society. Thats their loss. And screw shaving legs all the time. People can keep their opinions to themselves. We’re not here just to beautify the place and do what they want.

Leave a Reply

